Tags

, , , , , ,

How does one write after tragedy? The facebook posts have given us solidarity with the French people and reminded us of others within conflict zones in our world.

Words are lost , unable to comfort nor understand.

It was Amistice day two days prior to the tragedy and that day was meant to remind us of the value of life, remind us how precious each and everyone of us are in this world community.

Words are lost, unable to comfort nor understand.

And today I left my home in my usual rush to get to work well before the rest of the community. It is a busy day for me, a full teaching day, an after-school meeting and then a quick jog to my French lesson, where I had a French test, (which I was not fully prepared for!)

Out of the blue, I find a tinfoil wrapped parcel and a drink on my desk. My lovely daughter, had made me lunch and dinner. I did not ask her to, I did not expect it and I was truly grateful for it. She is a glimmer of hope for our world.

Tuesdays are always a blur and this Tuesday was incredibly blurry with lunch meetings and discussions and I raced through the day to my French test and then some verb conjugations to race back to the catch the 22.04 tram home ,so that I did not have to wait an extra 20 minutes.

Now, I don’t know what it is about bus/tram shelters but teenagers like to ‘hang out’ there and as per usual there were a bunch of boys ‘hanging’ by the tram. One young man came to me and asked if I was Dutch or French, in Dutch and I responded in French that I was English. He then immediately changed to English and told me the tram was not working and that there was a replacement bus and told me where to wait.

Out of the blue another act of kindness. He is a glimmer of hope for our world.

I in turn spoke to an elderly gentleman who happened to be English about the replacement service and we got on the bus and chatted. There were some other young students on the bus and one of these young boys joined in our conversation, and he expressed eloquently his sadness, his concern and worry for the tragic events. It was incredibly moving to see someone, around the age of 18, speak so maturely. There was no aggression in his talk just a profound sadness at the loss and just by talking to us- a youngish middle-aged woman and an older man- was an act of kindness in itself.

Another act of kindness. He is another glimmer of hope.

The younger generation know how to be kind. They are good role models, we need to learn from them.

Small Insignificant acts of kindness =Hope!

 

 

 

 

